Download SSC CGL Written Exam Tier 1 ,2,3,4 Syllabus 2018 PDF


Download SSC CGL 2018 PDF download i HINDI or English from here. The official website of SSC is

Today we are going to talk about the SSC CGL Syllabus 2018. You can see the exam pattern and syllabus with exam pattern from here for the SSC CGL 2018 examination.

Staff Selection Commission CGL 2018 Syllabus PDF Download

SSC CGL stands for Staff Selection Commission – Combined Graduate Level Examination. This exam is conducted to recruit the staff for the various posts in ministries ,departments and organizations of the Government of India. It is conducted by the Staff Selection Commission for selecting staff for various Group B and Group C posts. The Staff Selection Commission was established in 1975.

Staff Selection Commission CGL 2018 Syllabus PDF Download
Staff Selection Commission CGL 2018 Syllabus PDF Download

SSC CGL Tier-I Exam Pattern

SSC Tier I exam of SSC CGL 2018 is an online exam. The exam is divided into 4 sections. The total marks in the exam is 200 marks and the duration of the exam is one hour. The questions asked in the exam will be completyed in the sme time.

Th candidates who are physically handicapped will get 80 minutes in the exam for the completion of the exam. There is a sense of negative marking in the exam. A 0.5 marks will be deducted from the score if an attempt is wrong.

Serial No.SectionsNo. of QuestionsTotal MarksTime Allotted
1General Intelligence and Reasoning2550A cumulative time of 60 minutes
2General Awareness2550
3Quantitative Aptitude2550
4English Comprehension2550

SSC CGL Tier I Syllabus: 2018

The syllabus of the SSC CGL Tier 1 is based on four subjects. The topics given in the exam are given here as. The topics can be seen from here.

General Intelligence and ReasoningGeneral AwarenessQuantitative AptitudeEnglish Comprehension
ClassificationStatic General Knowledge (Indian History, Culture etc.)SimplificationReading Comprehension
AnalogyScienceInterestFill in the Blanks
Coding-DecodingCurrent AffairsAveragesSpellings
PuzzleSportsPercentagePhrases and Idioms
MatrixBooks and AuthorsRatio and ProportionOne word Substitution
Word FormationImportant SchemesProblem on AgesSentence Correction
Venn DiagramPortfoliosSpeed, Distance and TimeError Spotting
Direction and DistancePeople in NewsNumber System
Blood RelationsMensuration
SeriesData Interpretation
Verbal reasoningTime and Work
Non-Verbal ReasoningAlgebra

SSC CGL 2018 Tier-II Exam Pattern

The Tier II is based on total of 200 marks. There is a 100 marks questions in each section of the exam. It has total 200 questions in the exam which is asked in the English section. The time limit of the exam is 2 hours. The students are from PH category will get a time of 2 hours and 40 minutes. The negative marking in the exam is 1/4 marks for attempting a question wrong.

Serial No.SectionsNo. of QuestionsTotal MarksTime Allotted
1Quantitative Ability1002002 hours
2English Language and Comprehension2002002 hours
3Statistics1002002 hours
4General Studies (Finance and Economics)1002002 hours

SSC CGL Tier II Syllabus: 2018

SSC CGL Tier II exam is based on the following sectio. The subjects which are included in the exam are

  1. Quantitative Aptitude
  2. English Language
  3. Statistics
  4. General Awareness

The third subject is applicable in only some posts. So you need to see the catalogue to check the exam from there.

Quantitative AptitudeEnglish LanguageStatisticsGeneral Awareness
SimplificationReading ComprehensionCollection and Representation of DataFinance and Accounting
InterestSpellingMeasure of DispersionFundamental Principles
AveragesFill in the BlanksMeasure of Central TendencyFinancial Accounting
PercentagePhrases and IdiomsMoments, Skewness and KurtosisBasic Concepts of Accounting
Ratio and ProportionOne Word SubstitutionCorrelation and RegressionSelf-Balancing Ledger
Speed, Distance and TimeSentence CorrectionRandom VariablesError Spotting and Correction
Number SystemError SpottingRandom Variables
MensurationCloze TestSampling TheoryEconomics and Governance
Data InterpretationPara JumblesAnalysis and VarianceComptroller and Auditor General of India
Time and WorkSynonyms-AntonymsTime Series AnalysisFinance Commission
AlgebraActive-Passive VoiceIndex NumberTheory of Demand and Supply
Data Sufficiency

SSC CGL Tier III Syllabus: 2018

SSC CGL Tier III is based on a descriptive exam which is conducted to test the writing skills of the candidates in Hindi and English language. The examination is an offline exam which questions will be based on write essays, précis, application, letter etc. in this exam.

The exam is carried of 100 marks & the duration of the exam is of total 60 minutes. The time is extended for the PH category for 80 minutes i.e. 1 hour 20 minutes. The Tier III exam is given by a specific applicants who are applying for the post of “Statistical Investigator Grade II” & “Compiler”.

SSC CGL Tier IV Syllabus: 2018

Now comes the Tier IV which is based on the various couple of skill sets for the certain posts in Government departments all over the country.

DEST (Data Entry Speed Test): This is based on the posts of Tax Assistant (Central Excise and Income Tax),DEST Exam through SSC CGL 2018 exam is conducted to check the typing speed of the candidate. The candidate have to write an article on the computer of 200 words in 15 minutes.

CPT (Computer Proficiency Test): A candidate is tested for the Word Processing, Spread Sheets and Generation of slides are the three modules that are important for this exam and the commission demands a candidate to be proficient in it for the post of CSS, MEA, Inspector (Central Excise), Inspector (Preventive Officer), Inspector (Examiner).

The tier ! & Tier 2 are compulsory exams that are conducted for all the posts in the SSC CGL 2018 Notification.

Tier # is based on the candidates who apply for the post of Statistical Investigator Grade-II and Compiler.

Tier IV exam is for the those candidates who apply for the post of TA, CSS, MEA and Inspector.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here